Afcon Qualifiers: Uganda 2-0 Malawi – McKinstry wins his first home game

Afcon Qualifiers: Uganda 2-0 Malawi – McKinstry wins his first home game

Uganda picked up their first Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) 2021 Group B win after defeating Malawi 2-0 at Mandela National Stadium in Namboole on Sunday.

Goals from Emmanuel Okwi and Fahad Bayo were enough to seal the win for coach Johnathan McKinstry who was overseeing his first home match since his September appointment.

The Flames almost got an opening goal in the fourth minute only to be denied by a raised offside flag. The visitors won a corner which was taken by Mhango Gabadinho who preferred a short one to Gerald Phiri but Gabadinho was flagged down as he moved quickly to position himself for a cross from Phiri.

Munthali denied Uganda an open chance in the 15th minute when he punched the ball away before a rising Farouk Miya met it inside the area. Joseph Ochaya delivered the cross from the left-wing but Munthali’s quick reaction saved the day for Malawi.

The Cranes would have broken the deadlock in the 22nd minute but Miya’s overhead kick went off target. Okwi made a fine run across the right-wing before delivering a cross into the box only for the Al Ittihad forward to send the ball over the bar.

Gomezgani Chirwa failed to clear his area in the 30th minute and this gave Okwi a one on one opportunity with Munthali. The former Simba SC striker beat the visiting goalkeeper to plant the ball into the net from inside the penalty area to give Uganda the opener.

Miya could have doubled Uganda’s lead in the 41st minute but he was denied by the post after beating Lucky Malata to the ball and attempted to find the left corner of Munthali’s post.

Malawi’s coach Meke Mwase made a change when he withdrew Chimwemwe Idana for Chimango Kayira and it was not clear whether it was a tactical change or Idana got injured.

McKinstry made the first change in the 54th minute when Murushid Juuko limped off and was replaced by Timothy Awany.

Bayo doubled the hosts’ lead in the 67th minute after another concentration lapse in Malawi’s defence allowed him to create space and tuck the ball in past Munthali.

Uganda XI: Dennis Onyango (GK, Captain), Nico Wakiro Wadada, Joseph Benson Ochaya, Bevis Mugabi, Murushid Juuko, Khalid Aucho, Mike Azira, Farouk Miya, Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, Fahad Bayo, William Luwagga Kizito.

Malawi XI: Brighton Munthali, Stanley Sanudi, Peter Cholopi, Lucky Malata, Gomezgani Chirwa, Yamikani Chester, Chimwemwe Idana, Gabadinho Mhango, John Banda, Gerald Phiri Jnr., Richard Mbulu.